Clan CrestThe Clan McLea/Livingstone Forum

Code of
Conduct
Title: Appin Livingstones in late 18th century
Posted by: Douglas MacGregor
Date: 13 February 2006

Hello. I am new to the Clan Mclea/Livingstone forum, so let me introduce myself. My name is Douglas MacGregor and I am descended from Mary Livingstone who was born in the 1790s and lived all her life in Appin.

Having exhausted the obvious methods of obtaining further information, this post is intended to provide some information about her and her immediate family in the hope that this will ring a bell with other people who may have a connection.

We are not exactly sure when Mary was born. Her death certificate suggests 1790. Census returns from 1841 to 1871 are inconsistent, but allowing for rounding suggest a range of dates from 1787 to 1801. We know that the ages given on census returns for her husband were incorrect.

Mary's parents are listed on her death certificate as John Livingstone and Mary Livingstone (maiden surname also Livingstone), but this is the only information we have about them. 

I noted on the Clan Livingstone website a record of Peggy Livingstone, born 1795 in Coalard to a John Livingstone and a Mary Livingstone.  Given the proximity of dates and the fact that both parents are listed as Livingstones, it is possible that Peggy is a sister of Mary. Does anyone know what happened to Peggy? Or does anyone else have Livingstone relatives born around this time, whose parents were John Livingstone and Mary Livingstone, and who might be siblings of Mary?