Clan CrestThe Clan McLea/Livingstone Forum

Code of
Conduct
Title: The Boggs-Livingston Mystery Solved!
Posted by: Andrew Lancaster
Date: 30 September 2005

Hi Everyone

I have a disposition which makes me often seem a horrible sceptic when I write. But I should point out that I think Rob's theory could have something in it. It is just that I like to go through every hypothesis with counter arguments. So keep my style in context. I am taking this seriously and trying to set out some more food for thought.

I am not an expert on the Boggs/Livingston debates, but I think this is a reminder that I shoulder learn more about them. What I understood before this post was via Rob:
a. That the many Boggs families have stories of an old link to Livingstons.
b. That this link was that they used to be Livingstons, but they changed name in Ireland.

The hypothesis of Rob seems to start from the assumption that (a) is more likely to be true than (b) which is more specific. I would question that. A *specific* story which stays in the story must have an explanation. A vague story can have almost any origin, by definition. In my Livingstone family it is said we are related to Dr Livingstone. Such a specific story can certainly be wrong, but to show whether it is, you constantly have to consider what could have created this story. In our case it is easy. The family may simply have felt they were kin, and may have expressed this to their Australian children. But how do you explain such a specific story as having changed name from Livingston to Boggs in Ireland.